Skip to content

Do you get The Witch Queen if you buy Lightfall?

No, unfortunately you do not get The Witch Queen expansion if you purchase only the new Lightfall DLC for Destiny 2. The Witch Queen and Lightfall are separate expansions that must be bought individually.

An Overview of Destiny 2‘s Major Expansions

As a long-time Destiny player and content creator focused on all things related to expansions, season passes, and DLC, let me provide some helpful insight into what you get with Destiny 2‘s major releases.

Destiny 2 originally launched in 2017 and has since seen several major expansions that evolve the world and add huge amounts of new content:

  • Forsaken (2018)
  • Shadowkeep (2019)
  • Beyond Light (2020)
  • The Witch Queen (2022)
  • Lightfall (2023)

Each expansion must be purchased separately and comes with its own self-contained campaign, destination patrol zones, activities, gear, and more. Owning previous expansions is not required to play new releases, but longtime players ideally want access to all the content.

The Witch Queen – One of Destiny‘s Best Expansions

The Witch Queen launched in February 2022 and is considered one of the very best expansions in Destiny‘s 8+ year history according to many players and critics.

It added the new Savathun‘s Throne World destination, introduced the Weapon Crafting system, had an excellent story campaign focused on Savathun and the Lucent Hive, added the Vow of the Disciple raid, and much more.

I cannot recommend The Witch Queen enough even in 2023 – it remains an absolute must-play expansion for every Destiny 2 player in my opinion as a long-time fan.

What You Get with the New Lightfall Expansion

Lightfall is the latest major expansion for Destiny 2, launching on February 28, 2023. Some of the new content and features Lightfall is adding:

  • New Legend campaign and storyline set on Neptune
  • Strand subclass with new abilities
  • Neomuna city destination with patrol zones
  • New eight-player raid, dungeons, and matchmade activities
  • Exotic and Legendary weapons and armor
  • Access to Season 20: Season of Defiance

As you can see, Lightfall is jam-packed with great new content for Destiny players to dive into. However, one thing it does not include is access to The Witch Queen expansion.

Do You Need to Buy The Witch Queen Separately?

Unfortunately, yes you do need to purchase The Witch Queen separately even if you buy Lightfall. Previously released expansions are not bundled with the new Lightfall DLC.

Bungie did provide free access to The Witch Queen‘s content for all players for a limited time from February 21-26, 2023 leading up to Lightfall‘s release. But that promotion has ended, so you need to buy The Witch Queen to experience its content long-term.

As a huge Destiny enthusiast, I highly recommend picking up both The Witch Queen and Lightfall to truly get the full breadth of content available right now. Trust me, you don‘t want to miss out on everything The Witch Queen brought to the table!

Is the Lightfall + Annual Pass Worth It?

For hardcore players planning to stick with Destiny 2 long term, purchasing the Lightfall + Annual Pass bundle is great value. Here‘s a breakdown of everything it includes:

  • Lightfall expansion ($40 value)
  • Season Passes for Year 6 Seasons 20-23 ($40 value)
  • Two new dungeons releasing in Year 6 ($30 value)
  • Exotic Sparrow and other bonuses

You save around $20-25 buying the Annual Pass versus the content separately. And you lock in access to those future dungeons.

For more casual players just looking for Lightfall, the base $40 edition may be sufficient to start. But the Annual Pass contains a ton of great content if you plan on playing for the next year.

Either way, adding The Witch Queen purchase to your cart is also highly recommended! That way you can experience the best of both worlds.

Editions and Platform Considerations

A few quick tips on purchasing:

  • Lightfall and The Witch Queen are available on all platforms – PC, PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S.
  • You must buy each expansion per platform – so if switching from PS to Xbox, rebuy any expansions.
  • There are Standard and Deluxe editions of both expansions. Deluxe gives bonus Season Passes.
  • There is also a Complete Collection with both expansions and all content.

Let me know if you need any assistance deciding! I‘m always happy to offer advice to new or returning Guardians.

The Roadmap Beyond Lightfall

While Lightfall kicks off Year 6, Bungie has revealed the next major expansion after that wraps up the current epic storyline. The Final Shape arrives in 2024 as the climax to the Light and Darkness saga.

It‘s an exciting time to be a Destiny 2 player with so much content on the horizon! I hope this guide gave you a comprehensive overview of what you get with Lightfall vs The Witch Queen, and how best to purchase the expansions. Let me know if you have any other questions!