Privacy is a major concern among social media users like Instagram. While there is no specific way of hiding who you follow on Instagram, there are particular steps you can take to keep this information private while still enjoying the platform.

After all, who wants neighbors and friends to know who you follow on Instagram? This can be a source of unnecessary fuss. For example, your friend might pick an issue with you because you followed someone they did not like. To keep you safe from such and other unnecessary dramas, here are easy tips to hide who you follow on Instagram.


1. Restrict A User's Account

The quickest way to hide who you follow on IG from specific users is to restrict their accounts. Limiting their accounts will restrict what they see on your profile. For instance, when you limit a user's account, they will not be able to view your stories, your following list, or even know when you are online.

Besides, they will not know when you restrict them. They won't get a notification that you have determined their account. There are two ways of limiting users' accounts on Instagram:

i. Through Settings

Step 1: Log in to your Instagram account and head to your profile.

Step 2: Select Settings, tap Privacy, then go to Connections.

Select Settings

blankStep 3: Tap the Restricted Accounts option and click Continue if prompted.

Step 4: Use the Search tool to find the particular user (s) you want to restrict.

restrict.

blankStep 5: Tap the Restrict button next to the user name, and you will have restricted the user.

ii. Through their Profile

Step 1: While on your Instagram account, go to the profile of the user you want to restrict their activity. Use the search tool to get to the user's profile quickly.

Step 2: At the top-right corner of their profile, tap on the three dots (···).

Step 3: And from the drop-down menu, select Restrict to limit the user's activity on your profile.


2. Make Your Account Private

While it's impossible to hide who you follow on IG entirely by going private mode, you can reduce the visibility of your profile. Here is how to switch your Instagram profile to private mode:

Step 1: Log in to your IG account and tap the profile button at the bottom right corner to open your profile.

Log in

blankStep 2: On your profile page, tap on the hamburger menu (three horizontal lines) at the upper right of your screen and proceed to open Settings.

open Settings

blankStep 3: Scroll downwards and tap on Privacy, then tap Private Account.

Step 4: To switch your account to private mode, move the toggle switch to the right.

Note: You can only switch to private mode if you operate on a personal IG account. You cannot switch to private mode if your profile is a business account. By switching your IG account to private mode:

i. People who are not on your followers' list will have to send a follow request for them to view your posts, your followers, and who you follow.

ii. Your total number of followers will still be visible to the public.


3. Use Third-Party Apps

Third-Party

The best way to keep your following list private is by using a third-party app that hides the names of people you follow. There are many apps available on both Android and iOS that will do this.

blankYou can download them from Google Play Store or Apple App Store. After installing the application, login with your Instagram account and enter the names of the people whose accounts you want to hide from your followers' list.

These third-party applications work like monitoring tools on IG. they provide more privacy features than Instagram. For instance, with these apps, you can view what other people post on Instagram without following them. Thus, technically, your following list remains private even as you enjoy seeing what other people post on this app.

However, before using any third-party apps on your Instagram account, ensure they are reliable and work efficiently. Remember, these apps will have access to your data.


4. Remove Your Followers

Your followers on Instagram can view all your profile information, including who you follow. If you want to hide who you follow, then it's time to remove your followers. And here's how to do it:

Step 1: Log in to your Profile.

Instagram

blankStep 2: Tap on the Followers button.

Step 3: Go through your followers' list; beside each name is a Remove button. 

Remove button

blankStep 4: Tap the Remove button to remove a follower from your list.

Once you remove a follower from your list, they will not be able to view what you post, your followers and who you follow. The only people who will know that you're following a specific user are the users, as they'll receive a notification when someone follows them.


5. Blocking Users

This option should be your last resort. It would be best if you only used it when the four tips above have failed or when you operate a public or business profile that doesn't allow you to switch to private mode. Blocking someone means they will no longer be able to visit your profile, see your posts, and your following list.

To block someone:

Step 1: Open your Instagram account, head to the Search bar, and search for the user you intend to block.

Step 2: Open their profile page and tap the ‘Three dots‘ at the top right.

Block

blankStep 3: From the menu, choose Block.

Step 4: At this point, you can either block their current account or any new accounts the user may create.

Step 6: Tap the Block button again to confirm your decision.

The blocked user (s) cannot view who you follow or your posts on IG.


Conclusion

If you are concerned about your privacy and safety on Instagram, it's time to take action! Start by restricting users' activity on your profile; if that doesn't seem to work, consider switching to private mode. However, switching to private mode will be impossible if your IG account is a business profile. Instead, you can use third-party apps to hide who you follow from your followers, remove followers or block them. The latter should be your last resort.