Skip to content
  • by
  • News
  • 3 min read

The Evolution of Rainbow Six Siege’s Ranking System

The History of Rainbow Six Siege's Ranking System

Rainbow Six Siege, the popular tactical shooter game developed by Ubisoft, has been captivating players since its release in 2015. One of the key aspects that keeps players engaged is the game's ranking system, which allows them to compete against others and climb the ladder of skill and prestige. Over the years, the ranking system in Rainbow Six Siege has undergone several changes and evolutions, aiming to provide a fair and balanced competitive experience for all players.

When Rainbow Six Siege was first launched, the ranking system was relatively simple. Players would start at the bottom of the ladder, in the Copper rank, and could work their way up by winning matches. The ranking system was based on a point system, where players would gain or lose points depending on the outcome of their matches. The more points a player accumulated, the higher their rank would be.

However, as the player base grew and the game became more competitive, Ubisoft realized that the ranking system needed some adjustments. In 2016, they introduced a new system called “Operation Health,” which aimed to improve the overall gameplay experience. As part of this update, the ranking system underwent significant changes.

The new ranking system introduced a tiered structure, with players now being placed in one of several ranks, including Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, and Diamond. Each rank had several divisions, allowing players to have a more accurate representation of their skill level. Additionally, the point system was replaced with a matchmaking rating (MMR) system, which took into account various factors such as individual performance and the skill level of opponents.

This new ranking system was well-received by the community, as it provided a more transparent and fair representation of a player's skill. However, Ubisoft didn't stop there. They continued to refine and improve the ranking system based on player feedback and the evolving competitive landscape.

In 2018, Ubisoft introduced a new feature called “Pick and Ban” in the game's ranked mode. This feature allowed players to ban certain operators from being used in a match, adding a new layer of strategy and depth to the gameplay. Alongside this update, the ranking system underwent further adjustments to ensure that the matchmaking process was balanced and fair, taking into account the new dynamics introduced by the Pick and Ban feature.

In recent years, Ubisoft has continued to make tweaks and improvements to the ranking system. They have introduced seasonal resets, where players' ranks are partially reset at the start of each new season, allowing them to recalibrate their skill level. They have also implemented stricter penalties for players who engage in toxic behavior or cheating, ensuring a more positive and competitive environment for all players.

The evolution of Rainbow Six Siege's ranking system is a testament to Ubisoft's commitment to providing a fair and enjoyable competitive experience for players. From its humble beginnings as a simple point-based system to the complex and nuanced system it is today, the ranking system in Rainbow Six Siege has come a long way. With each update and adjustment, Ubisoft strives to maintain a balance between competitiveness and fairness, ensuring that players can continue to enjoy the thrill of climbing the ranks and proving their skills in the world of Rainbow Six Siege.